North-South International Transport Corridor

The foundation of the North-South Transport Corridor was laid on the basis of the intergovernmental agreement signed between Russia, Iran and India on September 12, 2000. Azerbaijan joined this agreement in 2005. In total, 13 countries have ratified the agreement (the Republic of Azerbaijan, the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Bulgaria, the Republic of Armenia, India, Islamic Republic of Iran, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Oman Sultanate, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan, the Republic of Turkey, Ukraine).


The aim of the Corridor is to reduce the delivery time of loads from India to Russia, as well as to Northern and Western Europe (at present delivery time on this route is over 6 weeks, it is expected to be 3 weeks via North-South).


Northern and Western Europe - the Russian Federation, then it is envisaged in three directions:


Caucasus - Persian Gulf;

Central Asia - Persian Gulf;

Caspian Sea - Islamic Republic of Iran - Persian Gulf.


The expected volume of cargo that will be transported over the territory of Azerbaijan through the Corridor:


at the first stage - 3 million tons;

at the second stage - 5-8 million ton;

at the third stage - 15 million ton.


The following measures are being taken on the part of the North-South International Transport Corridor passing through the territory of the Republic of Azerbaijan:


 - The construction of 8.3 km of new road of Astara (Azerbaijan) - Astara (Iran) railway line up to the Astarachay bridge and the bridge over the Astarachay and 1.4 km of road on the territory of Iran has been completed;


 - Negotiations are underway with Iranian side on the construction of Gezvin-Resht (175 km) section of this corridor;


- Construction of Samur (Azerbaijan) - Yaraq Qazmalar (Russia) highway bridge over the Samur River.

    Şriftin ölçüsü

    A A A

    Saytın rəngi

    R R R